Ring of Taco

I’m going to be honest with you here. In the making of this particular recipe, I had my first real failure. The final product was great, but between this, a salad, and an onion dip (both of which will be blogged about soon), I spent three hours in my kitchen. I originally wanted to make this recipe with ground turkey so that my step-dad could eat it. Well, either you don’t “brown” turkey and it actually turns white, or I just did it completely wrong. So… I switched to ground beef. After googling how to “brown” ground beef, it actually managed to be okay. As it turns out, my family (the ones who eat beef) really enjoyed the dish and asked me to make it again.

Recipe: 

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cans of crescent rolls
  • 1 pound of ground beef
  • 1.25 oz package of taco seasoning
  • 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 medium green bell pepper
  • 3 cups shredded lettuce
  • 1 medium tomato, diced

Steps: 

  1. preheat the oven to 375
  2. brown the beef, and drain
  3. add taco seasoning and simmer
  4. arrange the triangles of the crescent rolls into a circle on a pizza pan, so that it looks like a sun. The triangles should overlap on the inside of your circle. Remember to leave a 5 inch (or so) opening in the center
  5. put the beef on the inside of your “sun” or circle (the broad edges of your triangles)
  6. fold over the tips of the triangles and press into the dough on the inside of the circle. Meat will be showing if your circle is actually a circle (as compared to my oval)
  7. place in the oven for 20-22 minutes, or until the crescent rolls start to look golden-brown
  8. when cooked, add the cheese, lettuce, tomato, pepper, or whatever else you have to the middle of the ring
  9. serve with salsa on the side (or whatever else you prefer)

Now, I know what you’re thinking: How did I manage to mess this up? Well, you have to understand. I am learning to cook. I’m not there yet! If anyone knows what I should have done with that turkey, help is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

